Application for the ITB China Startup Award 2018 starts at 1 March

By on February 4, 2018 | Press Release

Application period from 1 March until 10 April – aspiring startups are invited to apply, in order to present their forward-looking ideas and solutions – award ceremony to take place in the afternoon of 17 May – companies of all sizes and sectors may apply. Aspiring startups can apply from 1 March until 10 April 2018 for the ITB China Startup Award on the stages of the eTravel World at ITB China, taking place from 16 to 18 May 2018, in Shanghai. The award recognizes startup companies who launched their products and business solutions with great market potential less than two years ago. The winner voted by the jury of experienced travel industry professionals will receive the ITB China Startup Award during a ceremony taking place on 17 May 2018 in the conference area at the Shanghai World Expo Exhibition and Conference Center and will be awarded a 9 sqm booth for ITB China 2019.

During an 8-minute pitch the innovators have the chance to explain how their product will impact the future of the travel industry. Pre-selected innovators from startup companies present their innovative solutions before the jury consisting of experienced industry professionals. The product and/ or solution should be innovative, add value to customers and should be commercial. The applicant pool is vetted by the ITB China jury based on the uniqueness of the underlying innovation. Companies of all sizes and sectors may apply.

home-office-599475_1280Philip C. Wolf, Founder, Phocuswright Inc, said: “Technology is the ultimate differentiator in travel, tourism and hospitality. And startups innovate the most. That’s why the awards are so important.”

Shiwei Zhou, Vice President, Ctrip Investments, said: “Innovation is a critical force that will drive the future growth of the travel industry. It introduces new business concepts, technologies and their applications, and ways to improve the efficiency of the travel value chain. ITB China is doing a good service to the travel industry by promoting innovation through this Startup Award program.”

The jury consists of the following members of experienced industry professionals:

  • Philip C. Wolf, Founder, Phocuswright Inc
  • Herry Han, Partner, Lightspeed China Partners
  • Jay You, Partner, Yuantai Investment Partners Evergreen Fund
  • Shiwei Zhou, Vice President, Ctrip Investments
  • Fei Ye, Vice President Strategic, Investment and Capital Market, China Lodging Group

More information is available at

ITB China Press Registration:

As of now you can obtain your accreditation for ITB China at


Sign up for free to get the latest updates.